Hello from Clackamas

Introduce yourself, get to know others, and commune with one another!
anochria

Hello from Clackamas

Post by anochria » Sun Jan 11, 2009 11:20 pm

Josh Coles here... aka Anochria.

I posted on the old forum a bit but lost most of my posts :cry: I'm just getting around to starting over.

Some info on me:

I'm a pastor of a small church in the Portland Oregon area- Aletheia Christian Fellowship. Some of you know Chris and Robin from these forums. They're the ones who introduced me here and they've been fellowshipping with us for the last year.

Let's see... born and raised in the Portland area. Went to Portland Christian Schools kindergarten through High School. Went to college at Mt. Hood Community, Warner Pacific, and PSU. I've been an alternative high school teacher now for 11 years (my day job :) )

My wife Rosemary and I have been married 12 1/2 years! We have a five year old (almost 6) boy named Justus and a two year old girl, Riley.

We had a 'bible study' group in our home for 9 years, which culminated in a church (Aletheia Christian Fellowship) which officially started meeting in 2005. Chris coined a good slogan for ACF: "Barely not a house church" because although we now rent a small, comfortable basement space from a larger church we still have the home church feel in many ways.

Interests: backpacking (the more remote the venue, the better), writing, reading, pipe-smoking (on special occasions), history, strategy games, music (mostly lesser-known artists with strange vocal characteristics), singing, playing the guitar and bass.

Favorite Conversation Topics: Hearing people's experiences (or lack of) with God, theology, apologetics, the Lord of the Rings, the Chronicles of Narnia, World War II anything (or history in general).

Favorite Authors: CS Lewis, GK Chesterton, NT Wright, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, George MacDonald, Philip Yancey, JRR Tolkien, Augustine, William Blake, Frederick Buechner....