My pastor is a Freemason

brody196

My pastor is a Freemason

Post by brody196 » Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:37 am

I have been attending my local Methodist church for several years now and have come to respect the pastor as a good friend. I dont agree with everything he teaches, but find him to be a very pleasant soul.

This morning I noticed he was wearing a Masonic Lodge ring, so I asked him about it and to my surprise he is a 32nd degree Mason. I have read a lot of material on Masonry and do not find it compatable with Christian teaching. I want to talk to him about it, but just dont know how to approach it. Any advice?

Singalphile

My pastor is a Freemason

Post by Singalphile » Sun Sep 09, 2012 11:59 am

I'd be glad to have the chance to learn about it directly from someone who is a known, respected Christian with firsthand knowledge. If he's a friend, then I'd just ask him about it, his experiences and how they square with what you've read.

Myself, I don't see how Masonic membership is different from being a "member" of Groupon, CostCo, a sports club, or a particular employer, or even a local church group. They all have their privacy and/or license agreements and rules/terms of service or membership. One could perhaps rightly argue that membership in such groups is a worldly distraction, I think.

I would be interested to hear about whatever you do learn, if you want to share.

I've never had any particular interest in Masonry but... maybe there's an old Mason thread around here.
... that all may honor the Son just as they honor the Father. John 5:23

Paidion

My pastor is a Freemason

Post by Paidion » Sun Sep 09, 2012 2:02 pm

Singalphile, being a freemason is MUCH different from being a member of a club, or even any other lodge. It is incompatible with Christianity. Do an internet search, and find out why Christians avoid it, and why the Catholic Church condemns it.

brody196

My pastor is a Freemason

Post by brody196 » Sun Sep 09, 2012 5:09 pm