CULTS. on today's boadcast.

Discuss topics raised by callers on the radio program
Jill

CULTS. on today's boadcast.

Post by Jill » Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:55 pm

Last edited by Jill on Thu Feb 17, 2011 2:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Michelle

Re: CULTS. on today's boadcast.

Post by Michelle » Wed Jun 24, 2009 6:58 pm

Hi Jill,

I'm not an expert in cults or anything, but I do have a few observations to make about what you've said here. I haven't heard today's broadcast yet, so I'm just going by what you posted.

1 a) I think you make a valid point about the Roman Catholic Church, and I've heard other people say the same thing. I don't think that the fact that any group dismisses themselves as NOT being a cult is an indication that they truly aren't. Which cults readily and proudly label themselves as a cult, anyway?

b) If a Calvary Chapel or a Baptist group demand that their members can only think the way the leader does, they could be a cult as well.

c) I've noticed you use the word Baptist as some kind of general term that describes a group of people, and this group is not necessarily just those of us who are affiliated with a Baptist association. I'm curious about what the word Baptist means to you.

2) I'm not sure what to say about the teachability of a cult member. I guess they can learn their cultic dogma just fine, but they seem unable to process any ideas that differ from their leaders' paradigm. I think.

Jill

Post by Jill » Wed Jun 24, 2009 8:49 pm

Last edited by Jill on Thu Feb 17, 2011 2:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kaufmannphillips

Post by kaufmannphillips » Wed Jun 24, 2009 11:44 pm

Jill wrote:
In the beginning of todays show Steve defined a cult, like Jehovah's Witnesses for instance, saying: "those in a cult are no longer able to think for themselves"...

{and}

Michelle wrote:
If a Calvary Chapel or a Baptist group demand that their members can only think the way the leader does, they could be a cult as well.