quote from justin martyr

_TK

quote from justin martyr

Post by _TK » Mon Aug 06, 2007 12:29 pm

I am no expert in early church fathers, but apparently Justin Martyr wrote in his First Apologia:

"When we say that the Word, who is the first-birth of God, was produced without sexual union, and that He Jesus Christ was crucified and died, and rose again, and ascended into heaven, we propound nothing different from what you believe regarding those whom you esteem Son's of Jupiter."

what was his point in saying this?

i have been having a discussion with someone who brings up how the claims of christianity are not really anything new, as in the following: other virgin births, others had a god for a father, healed sicknesses, raised the dead, turned water into wine, cured the blind with their spit, fulfilled prophesy,believer's filled with the spirit of their god, walking on water (other ancient god's walked in air too), other believers had a meal with bread representing the body of their god and wine or water representing the blood of their god, and dying and raising god's were a dime a dozen.

how would you respond to this?

TK
Last edited by Guest on Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm, edited 0 times in total.
Reason:
"Were not our hearts burning within us? (Lk 24:32)

_roblaine

Post by _roblaine » Mon Aug 06, 2007 1:10 pm

Hi Tk,
To the Romans, Jupiter held the same role and Zeus did to the Greeks. The Romans held that Jupiter had son's himself. It would seem to me that Justin was challenging their consistency in saying that Jesus could not be the Son of God. He certainly was not giving credibility to their beliefs.

Robin
Reason:
God Bless

_TK

Post by _TK » Mon Aug 06, 2007 4:15 pm

thanks robin. i agree.

what do you think about the second part of my post? i think the whole point of this guy i am conversing with is that christianity borrowed its major ideas from pagan religions that pre-dated it.

TK
Reason:
"Were not our hearts burning within us? (Lk 24:32)

_Rae