Knowing who speaks the truth of God - NT?

Barnsweb

Knowing who speaks the truth of God - NT?

Post by Barnsweb » Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:14 am

Some time back I was lead to do a web site on the teachings of Jesus. For about two years I studied nothing but what He taught, considered the things He said that were key commandments and precepts, and arrived at the conclusion that what we today call 'Christianity' is actually discipleship to Him and whatever He taught. First of record is His sermon on the mount where key foundational teachings are made explicit, that concludes with the admonition to be both hearers and doers of His word and never just be a 'hearer only.' A less known prophecy in the OT speaks to His teachings in the genealogy of Genesis 5 (Man is appointed mortal sorrow. The blessed God shall come down teaching. His death shall bring the despairing comfort, rest.) that also tells of the primacy of His teachings of all the Scriptural record, as does the testimony of John the Baptist in John 3, that the words of Jesus alone come directly from heaven itself. In fact, the great commission of Matthew ends on the direction to teach the immersed disciples to keep the same commandments that Jesus had first taught the, and per John 14-17, the Holy Spirit would enable them to recall all He had taught them (the twelve).

That Jesus taught the Law as enduring though heaven and earth pass away and extant until all things prophesied be fulfilled, it greatly disturbs me that the NT is full of contradictory doctrines taught by Paul. There is no upright way to justify what Paul taught and still actually believe what Jesus taught - one has to:

1. Fail to obey the commands of God in Deu. 4, 12, 13 and 18, disregard the truth of Jesus' words in Revelation (2), and nullify the good that God requires of man.